The Republic of Uzbekistan declared September 1, 1991 the Day of Independence. The new country appeared on world map and its priorities were to establish a free democratic society and to develop a market economy. The Republic has been recognized by more than 165 countries and diplomatic relations have been established with more than 120. The embassies of more than 40 countries and many authorized international non-governmental agencies have set up their offices in Tashkent. The embassies of Uzbekistan operate in 25 countries of the world and its consulates 10 countries. The country joined the UN in March 1992.

Since the first days of independence the government of the country has found the way to meet the interests of the Uzbek nation and provide social, political and economic stability.

At present trade-economic links have been established with more than 140 countries. More than 3800 joint ventures operate in the Republic and the total volume of exported goods has increased 1,5 times.

Support to on-going reforms in the economic and social spheres is provided by the international financial structures.

Uzbekistan is developing its co-operation with well-known international organizations such as the EU, OSCE, NATO and is strengthening mutually beneficial bilateral relations with many countries of Europe, America, Asia, Africa, and the countries of the CIS.

Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Uzbekistan

conventional short form: Uzbekistan

local long form: O'zbekiston Respublikasi

local short form: O'zbekiston

Government type: republic

Capital: Tashkent (Toshkent)

Administrative divisions: 12 provinces (viloyatlar, singular - viloyat), 1 autonomous republic* (respublika), and 1 city** (shahar); Andijon Viloyati, Buxoro Viloyati, Farg'ona Viloyati, Jizzax Viloyati, Namangan Viloyati, Navoiy Viloyati, Qashqadaryo Viloyati (Qarshi), Qaraqalpog'iston Respublikasi* (Nukus), Samarqand Viloyati, Sirdaryo Viloyati (Guliston), Surxondaryo Viloyati (Termiz), Toshkent Shahri**, Toshkent Viloyati, Xorazm Viloyati (Urganch)

Independence: 1 September 1991

National holiday: Independence Day, 1 September (1991)

Constitution: new constitution adopted 8 December 1992

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal